The 4th Annual Renegade Craft Fair Holiday Market – The Greatest Turnout Yet!

Posted: December 17, 2013 in Art, Events, Food Truck, Los Angeles
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Renegade LA Craft Fair returned to LA State Historic Park for its fourth year in a row this past weekend. This FREE two-day event features over a hundred different vendors and exhibitors selling various arts & crafts goods, ranging from apparel to accessories to miscellaneous home goods and more. The exhibitors, which consisted of artists, designers, bakers, crafters, and more, brought plenty of merchandise for the thousands of guests to browse and buy, just in time for the holidays.

The Renegade Craft Fair typically sees a consistent crowd throughout the day at all of their events. However, during this weekend, way more people attended the fair than I had expected. I encountered this upon arrival when I inspected the parking situation, where the park staff had to open up additional parking locations within the park. I usually find parking either on the street or across the street, but this time, so many people commuted that I had to park in the newly-opened area behind the fair. Once inside the fair, I again noticed an increased amount of attendees compared with my last visit this past summer. Navigating the numerous aisles proved somewhat of a challenge with so many people around. The amount of attendees meant that not only would the vendors receive high foot traffic, but the food trucks would see lots of business too. I have not seen this many food trucks at a Renegade Craft Fair than at this one.

This year’s holiday fair featured a mix of returning vendors and new vendors. Some of the returning vendors included Bad Pickle Tees, Pop Candy, Pernicious Pickling, Love Nail Tree, The Library Store, Yarnover Truck, and more. Some vendors that caught my eye that I have not seen before or recognized included Cotton & Flax, Pommes Frites Candle Co., Against The Grain (last seen at Artisanal LA), and more.

With so many great merchandise available to take home, I simply could not leave empty-handed. As I strolled through the aisles, I instinctively turned my head towards Maya Brigadeiro as I walked up to it. These handcrafted dessert bites come packed with so much dense flavor that I have not sampled in a long time, so I opted to purchase a 6-pack of their Brazilian Staples.

Recently, I found myself using lip balm quite often. I can consume an entire stick of lip balm within a week depending on how many hours I work. So when I passed by Bunny Butt Apothecary, I told myself to take some time to check out their selection of lip balms. They make a variety of lip balm flavors that most people would not expect. I settled for their Lychee and Mango Lassi lip balm flavors.

Lastly, I knew I had to eventually encounter MNKR. Since I first started attending the biannual Renegade Craft Fair, I have always purchased one shirt from MNKR each time. This time, I purchased a white shirt that boldly proclaimed f*** censorship. I love their designs, and I love their dedication to supporting the local community, especially in empowering people to stand up for themselves instead of listening to what others tell them to do. MNKR will always have my thumbs-up and support.

No one can truly go wrong at an event like this because it supports the local community. Not only can you acquire some really neat clothes or accessories that many other people may not own, but you support locals, meaning your money helps to stimulate the local economy instead of sending money to a corporation outside of the state, or even outside of the country. Of course, one does not need a fair like this to support independents. Anyone can find mom & pop shops everywhere, and purchasing from them helps more than just the business staff and owners. Supporting local businesses also supports the people, workers and customers, linked to that business. An occasion like Small Business Saturday does not exist simply for the purpose of spending even more money on holiday shopping – it promotes the awareness of small businesses and their effect on the local community. Take some time to appreciate the local wonders in your community, and you may find the outcome rewarding at best.

Leave a Reply

